Hotel Rivulus

Attractions


Baia Mare was certified by documents in 1329 under the name Rivulus Dominarum (The River of the Ladies).

Among the local sights:


The Village Museum

The Village Museum

The second museum created by the Ethnographers from Baia Mare is the outside Museum. Gigantic efforts were made to organize this museum because, at that time, such a museum was not desired by those who governed the country. The reasons presented by the specialists and especially the theme of the exhibition which made the museum unique in Europe, finally determined the authorities to give to our museum a land of 12 hectares, on the Flowers Hill, surrounding the wood Chapel which was on this location. The works started by laying up the roads, the water system for hydrants, the line system and then were brought representative households for the four ethnographic zones in our county.

The Old Center – Baia Mare

The Old Center – Baia Mare

The Old Center (the Liberty Square), the place where the fair takes place, includes over 20 of the oldest buildings in the town, between XV-XIX centuries:

The Butchers Bastion

The Butchers Bastion

The Butchers Bastion (The Tower of ammunition) – built up in XIV-XV centuries, the tower is the only one which remained from the seven medieval towers of defense of the town. The legend tells that from this tower was drawn the bullet that killed the outlaw Pintea Viteazul. The address: near The Square of the Springs.  

Steven’s Tower

Steven’s Tower

Steven’s Tower, part of the former St. Steven’s Cathedral, was built up between 1446-1468 and it has over 45 m height. St. Steven’s Cathedral was built up between 1347-1387 and was affected by several fires caused by flashes of lightning. After the last fire in 1769, it wasn’t renovated anymore and the stone from the walls was used for other buildings in the town.